The Scholarship

Karl T. Harford

Good Samaritan Endowed Scholarship Fund

The Karl T. Harford Good Samaritan Endowed Scholarship Fund was created in 2004 by Karl’s parents, Tom and Livia Harford, to honor Karl and recognize students who demonstrate similar characteristics. Karl was a student at Ball State University, and his life ended violently when he provided a ride home for three strangers. Recipients must be pursuing a degree in or related to business at Ball State University, demonstrate academic promise, and have completed their sophomore year of college. Preference is given to students who demonstrate “Good Samaritan Acts” or random acts of kindness. Preference is also given to students who demonstrate financial need. Karl's scholarship fund has now given out over $191,000 in scholarships to 30 good samaritan students..

Scholarship Recipients

2017 recipients:
Bethany Sink - Anderson, IN - Business Administration
Ashley Nichols - Garrett, IN - Accounting/Finance
Brock Sanders - Fishers, IN - Finance

2016 recipients:
Jeremy Jarvis - Muncie, IN - Economics
Tristen Stuteville - Kansas City, MO - Business Administration
Katherine Bird - Redkey, IN - Business Administration

2015 recipients:
Jeffrey Haygood - South Bend, IN - Accounting
Nicole Nord - Fort Wayne, IN - Accounting
Ashley Remmel - Michigan City, IN - Business Law
Lindsay Hunt - Union City, IN - Business Administration

2014 recipients:
Shanna Gatesman - Hebron, IN - Accounting
Audrey Hoff - Fort Wayne, IN - International Business
Lucas Morrow - Evansville, IN - International Business
Alexis Glidden - Carmel, IN - Marketing

2013 recipients:
Lucas Blair - Selma, IN - International Business
Chelsea Wright - Farmland, IN - Accounting and Information Systems
Brittney Bass - Muncie, IN - Human Resource Management

2012 recipients:
Nathaniel O'Dell - Bremen, IN - Entrepreneurship major
Courtney Kajzer - Granger, IN - Accounting major
John Fry - Middlebury, IN - Entrepreneurship major

2011 recipients:
Clark Trexler - Fort Wayne, IN - Finance/Marketing major
Megan Bayley - Plymouth, IN - Risk Management and Insurance major
Alicia Fredenburg - New Castle, IN - Info Systems and Operations Mgmt major

2010 recipients:
Richard Fisher - Westfield, IN - Accounting major
Kyle O’Connor - New Paris, IN - Operations Management major
Michael Rozelle - Selma, IN - Accounting/Finance major

2009 Recipients:
Dan Kreitl - Muncie, IN - Entrepreneurship Major
Dane Wilson - Daleville, IN - Accounting and Economics Majors
Bethany Koester - Wadesville, IN - International Business Major

2008 Recipients:
Jonathan Gutwein - Monticello, IN - Entrepreneurship and Economics Majors
Kenneth Barrett - Selma, IN - Accounting Major

2007 Recipients:
Pamela Buhr - Fort Wayne, IN - Accounting Major
Whitney Brown - Crown Point, IN - International Business Major

2006 Recipients:
Pamela Buhr - Fort Wayne, IN - Accounting Major
Shane Pyne - Danville, IN - Entrepreneurship Major

2005 Recipient:
Rachel Schultz - Evansville, IN - Business Administration

The scholarship is managed by CICF. From generations of generous people, CICF uses our resources to focus on three areas that make central Indiana a better place to live for you and future generations. The mission of Central Indiana Community Foundation is to inspire, support, and practice philanthropy, leadership, and service in our community.
Contact Us | ©2005 Karl Harford Golf Outing